The Convergence Movement: “A Cross Denominational Kingdom Builders Alliance & Leadership Empowerment Zone”

Liturgy and Sacraments #ConvergenceMovement


The Liturgic and Sacramental

Liturgic – Liturgy

1.  relating to liturgy
2.  relating to religious worship or to a service of worship, especially the celebration of Communion in a Christian service.


Liturgy is; a body of rites (or system of ceremonial procedures) prescribed for formal public worship.

  • Although the term is sometimes applied to Jewish worship, it is especially associated with the prayers and ceremonies used in the celebration of the Lord’s Supper, also known as Holy Eucharist.
  • During the first three centuries of the Christian era, the rite of the church was comparatively fluid (or very likely changing), based on various accounts of the Last Supper.
  • In about the 4th century the various traditions crystallized into four liturgies, the Antiochene, or Greek, the Alexandrian, the Roman, and the Gallican, from which all others have been derived.
  • The Antiochene family of liturgies includes the Clementine liturgy of the Apostolic Constitutions, which is no longer used;
  • The Syriac liturgy of Saint James,
Syriac = ancient Syrian language: a form of Aramaic used between the 3rd and 13th centuries that survives in some Eastern Orthodox churches
  • The Syriac liturgy of Saint James, used by the Jacobite church and Syrian Eastern Rite churches (see Eastern Rite Churches);
  • The Greek liturgy of Saint James, used once a year at Jerusalem;
  • The Syriac liturgy of the Maronites;
  • The Syriac liturgy used by the Nestorian church;
  • The Malabar liturgy, used by the Saint Thomas Christians of India; the Byzantine liturgy, used in various languages by the Orthodox churches;
  • The Armenian liturgy, used by the Georgians and the Armenian Eastern Rite churches.


 In Christianity, a rite that is considered to have been established by Jesus Christ to bring grace to those participating in or receiving it.In the Protestant Church, the sacraments are baptism and Communion.

The Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox Churches also include penance (or confession & repentance), confirmation (completion of training for adult hood), holy orders, matrimony, and the anointing of the sick.

Learn more about the Convergence Movement