Monthly Archives: April 2017

  • 0

What the #ConvergenceMovement Is Not

What the Convergence Movement is Not. 


The Convergence Movement is not the Ecumenical Movement.

The Ecumenical Movement has been a constructive and instrumental part in preparing the scene for the Convergence Movement.   It was at first, and will continue to be, necessary for the various factions and denominations of God’s church to dialog and commence tearing down the walls of division.  God has blessed this effort.  The Convergence Movement, however, has identified the three living streams of the Church and invites God to bring them together as one complete life-giving river.  “There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the Place where the Most High dwells” (Psalm 46:4).  These three streams each in their own way have defined the map of Christianity through the ages and will merge like a  flood into the future to bring reconciliation and unleash God’s powerful purpose for his Church.  For the present time, Convergence Churches will be powerful symbols and agents of rapproachement and the impending unity of God’s people in the midst of a growing darkness and alienation in the world.

Learn more about the Convergence Movement

  • 0

Liturgy and Sacraments #ConvergenceMovement

The Liturgic and Sacramental

Liturgic – Liturgy

1.  relating to liturgy
2.  relating to religious worship or to a service of worship, especially the celebration of Communion in a Christian service.


Liturgy is; a body of rites (or system of ceremonial procedures) prescribed for formal public worship.

  • Although the term is sometimes applied to Jewish worship, it is especially associated with the prayers and ceremonies used in the celebration of the Lord’s Supper, also known as Holy Eucharist.
  • During the first three centuries of the Christian era, the rite of the church was comparatively fluid (or very likely changing), based on various accounts of the Last Supper.
  • In about the 4th century the various traditions crystallized into four liturgies, the Antiochene, or Greek, the Alexandrian, the Roman, and the Gallican, from which all others have been derived.
  • The Antiochene family of liturgies includes the Clementine liturgy of the Apostolic Constitutions, which is no longer used;
  • The Syriac liturgy of Saint James,
Syriac = ancient Syrian language: a form of Aramaic used between the 3rd and 13th centuries that survives in some Eastern Orthodox churches
  • The Syriac liturgy of Saint James, used by the Jacobite church and Syrian Eastern Rite churches (see Eastern Rite Churches);
  • The Greek liturgy of Saint James, used once a year at Jerusalem;
  • The Syriac liturgy of the Maronites;
  • The Syriac liturgy used by the Nestorian church;
  • The Malabar liturgy, used by the Saint Thomas Christians of India; the Byzantine liturgy, used in various languages by the Orthodox churches;
  • The Armenian liturgy, used by the Georgians and the Armenian Eastern Rite churches.


 In Christianity, a rite that is considered to have been established by Jesus Christ to bring grace to those participating in or receiving it.In the Protestant Church, the sacraments are baptism and Communion.

The Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox Churches also include penance (or confession & repentance), confirmation (completion of training for adult hood), holy orders, matrimony, and the anointing of the sick.

Learn more about the Convergence Movement